Vegan Puerto Rican Dish

Being a vegan Latina there is so much i can do. I can add my cultures traditional flavors and introduce new flavors into the mix and create dishes that remind me of the days I use to live with mom and eat her delicious Arroz con Habichulas.

I was not raised vegan, still to this day people ask me how are you vegan your Puerto Rican. What do you eat? I don’t know how you can’t eat meat. Typical comments and remarks.

Going vegan was easier than I thought. I don’t always cook my Spanish dishes, simply because i made the choice to swap out white rice for quinoa. In my opinion Quinoa, and Cauliflower rice is a healthier alternative to white rice.

If your interested on how to make a dish with Quinoa stay tune for a later post but if you want to make Cauliflower rice dish visit the following link.

https://lifestylevegangirl.wordpress.com/2016/08/24/alternative-to-rice-cauliflower/

Enough chatting lets begin with the ingredients needed.

Ingredients needed:

  • White Rice 2 Cups
  • Water
  • Spinach Diced
  • Kidney beans (Goya Brand)
  • Lime
  • Achiote seasoning
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Oregano
  • Garlic
  • Sofrito (Homemade Spanish Sauce)
  • Nutritional Yeast

Optional: Tomato paste

On stove top allow water to come to a boil. Add salt pepper and 1 or 2 garlic cloves and spoon of oil. Be sure to rinse the rice with cold water to allow the starch to filter out of the rice. Add the rice the boiling water, and cover with a lid. Stir occasionally to ensure it is cooking evenly. Takes about 15-20 minutes for the rice to be cooked entirely. You can always use a rice cooker.

So while the rice is cooking i move on to cooking the kidney beans. I take 3/4 of water add it to the pot, while it is coming to a boil I begin to add garlic clove, salt, pepper,  1 packet Achiote seasoning, spoon of Olive oil, 1-2 spoons of Homemade Sofrito. a dash of nutritional yeast and last but not least the Kidney Beans untrained. Stir allowing the ingredients to combine. Leave on Medium heat.

If you want to learn how to make Sofrito leave me a comment below.

Now that i have my rice and beans cooking, i move on to dicing and slicing my Spinach and lime.

Once everything is done i serve my plate add some Oregano and lime juice over my plate and im in heaven.

 

 

Leave a Reply

